Biographical Notes

Rolf Tschierschky was born in Frankfurt am Main, Germany on 27 July 1923 as the second of four children. His father, Alfred Tschierschky (1877−1938) was a painter and sculptor, whilst his mother Adele Tschierschky née Biesenbach (1895−1988) was extremely interested in culture and known for her subtlety and sensitiveness.

In 1937, the family moved to Berlin where the father, Alfred, died at age 61. For the 15-year-old Rolf Tschierschky, this meant he then had to step into his father’s shoes and take over responsibility for the whole family, meaning for his mother, Adele, and his siblings Rosemarie, Günter and Alfred (known as Fredi).

During World War II, Rolf Tschierschky served in the navy as a radio operator. He was last stationed in Ahlbeck on the Baltic Sea, and in 1945, was taken as a war captive by the English. It was in the time of his captivity that he took his first steps as a set designer. The “Bunte Gruppe Tating” (Vivid Group Tating), as this troupe of travelling players called themselves, performed theatre pieces in a mixture of German and English as entertainment for allied troops. After Rolf Tschierschky joined them, his role was that of set and scenery painter.

After his release in 1947, Rolf Tschierschky wandered by foot to Frankfurt where he hoped to find his mother, brother Günter and sister Rosemarie again. His brother, Fredi, had fallen during the Caucasus campaign.
In Frankfurt, the family settled in as best they could into their little house in the Dreikönigsstraße. Rolf Tschierschky took evening classes in painting and art history from 1948−1952 at the Städelschule, a public institution of higher learning for painting and art history. Arno König and Theo Garve were among his teachers here.
During his studies, Tschierschky worked once again in an advertising department as a graphic designer, this time at Harmann & Braun. The company specialized in measurement and control technology and placed high value on having its products presented clearly and in ways that lay people could understand. Rolf Tschierschky’s task was to depict the company’s products in its advertising brochures in a manner that was both realistic and aesthetically appealing.

From 1953–1956 he participated in the graphic classes of Beckmann student, Hans Leistikow at the Staatliche Werkakademie (public academy of applied arts) in Kassel. Further, he took part in set design courses given by the renowned in Europe and friend of Bertolt Brecht, Teo Otto. In Kassel, Tschierschky won first prize in a set design competition sponsored by the state-supported theatre in Kassel. Jointly with the Kassel-based artist Arnold Bode, he co-organized the first documenta, which meanwhile is one of the most important exhibits of contemporary art in the world. It was also here in Kassel that he first met Gertrud Koch, the woman who would later become his wife. After their marriage in 1957, a few turbulent years followed that included relocations to Braunschweig, Bonn and Offenburg. For Rolf Tschierschky, it was becoming increasingly difficult to care for his growing family solely through means of his work as a set designer.

From 1960 to 1965, Rolf Tschierschky was employed in Offenburg at the company Borsi KG, which specialized in outdoor advertising. The young graphic designer’s advertising work became more and more characterized by air brush techniques and photorealism.

In 1965, the family moved to Mengeringhausen in Waldeck-Frankenberg, Hesse, where his wife Gertrud was originally from. He quickly found a job as a technical draughtsman in the neighbouring town of Arolsen at the road construction office. This was not an activity he was especially fond of, however he performed it for 18 years. In 1983 when he was 61, he was allowed to go into retirement early due to health reasons.

In 1988, he was commissioned to complete a 3.65 metre tall glass painting for Arolsen’s sister city of Heusden-Zolder in Belgium. This was one of the few opportunities he ever had to work without restriction as an artist – and receive acknowledgement for his art.

Ein Maler des Fantastischen

en_GBEnglish
de_DEGerman en_GBEnglish

Biografische Notizen

Am 27. Juli 1923 kommt Rolf Tschierschky als zweites von vier Kindern in Frankfurt am Main zur Welt. Sein Vater ist der 1877 geborene Maler und Bildhauer Alfred Tschierschky, seine Mutter Adele Biesenbach, geboren 1895, eine kulturell sehr interessierte und feinsinnige Frau.

1937 zieht die Familie nach Berlin um, wo der Vater Alfred Tschierschky im Alter von 61 Jahren verstarb. Für den 15jährigen Rolf Tschierschky bedeutete dies, nun an die Stelle des Vaters zu treten und die Verantwortung für die gesamte Familie zu übernehmen: für die Mutter Adele und seine drei Geschwister Rosemarie, Günter und Alfred (genannt Fredi).

Im Krieg diente Rolf Tschierschky bei der Marine als Funker, zuletzt in Ahlbeck an der Ostsee, und geriet 1945 in englische Kriegsgefangenschaft. Hier tat er seine ersten Schritte als Bühnenbildner. Die „Bunte Gruppe Tating“, wie sich die rollende Schauspieltruppe nannte, führte zur Erheiterung der Alliierten Bühnenstücke in einem Gemisch aus Deutsch und Englisch auf, zu denen Rolf die Kulissen malte.

Nach seiner Entlassung 1947 wandert Rolf Tschierschky zu Fuß nach Frankfurt, in der Hoffnung, dort seine Mutter und die Geschwister Günter und Rosemarie wiederzufinden. Sein Bruder Fredi war im Kaukasus-Feldzug ums Leben gekommen.
In Frankfurt richtet sich die Familie, so gut es geht, in ihrem „Häuschen“ in der Dreikönigsstraße ein. An der „Städelschule“, der Staatlichen Hochschule für Bildende Künste, belegt er von 1948 bis 1952 Abendschul-Kurse in Malerei und Kunstgeschichte. Zu seinen Lehrern zählen Arno König und Theo Garve.
Während seines Studiums arbeitet Tschierschky als Grafiker in der Werbeabteilung der Firma Hartmann & Braun. Diese auf Mess- und Regeltechnik spezialisierte Firma legte Wert darauf, ihre Produkte anschaulich und auch für Laien verständlich zu präsentieren. Rolf Tschierschkys Aufgabe war es, die Firmenprodukte in Werbeprospekten realistisch und zugleich ästhetisch zu gestalten.

1953 bis 1956 ist er Mitglied in der Grafikklasse des Beckmann-Schülers Hans Leistikow an der Staatlichen Werkakademie in Kassel sowie in der Bühnenbildklasse des europäisch renommierten Teo Otto, eines Freundes von Bertolt Brecht. In Kassel gewinnt er den ersten Preis eines vom Staatstheater ausgeschriebenen Bühnenbildwettbewerbes und wirkt 1954/55 zusammen mit dem Kasseler Künstler Arnold Bode bei der Organisation der ersten documenta mit. Hier in Kassel lernt er auch seine spätere Ehefrau, Gertrud Koch, kennen. Im Jahr ihrer Heirat, 1957, kommt das erste von fünf Kindern auf die Welt. Nach der Heirat folgen unruhige Jahre mit mehreren Umzügen nach Braunschweig, Bonn und Offenburg. Es fällt Rolf Tschierschky zunehmend schwer, die wachsende Familie allein durch seine Arbeit als Bühnenbildner zu versorgen.

Von 1960 bis 1965 ist Rolf Tschierschky bei der auf Außenwerbung spezialisierten Firma Borsi KG in Offenburg angestellt. Mehr und mehr wird die Arbeit des jungen Werbegrafikers von Airbrushtechnik und Fotorealismus geprägt.

1965 zieht die Familie in das waldeckische Mengeringhausen, dem Heimatort seiner Ehefrau Gertrud. Er findet im Nachbarort Arolsen sehr rasch eine Stelle als technischer Zeichner im Straßenbauamt, die sich jedoch als wenig geliebte Tätigkeit herausstellt. 1983 lässt er sich aus gesundheitlichen Gründen im Alter von 61 Jahren frühpensionieren und kann sich nun uneingeschränkt der freien Kunstproduktion widmen.

Im Jahr 1988 erhält er den Auftrag, ein 3,65 Meter hohes Glasbild für die belgische Partnerstadt Heusden-Zolder anzufertigen – eine der wenigen Gelegenheiten, bei denen Rolf Tschierschky von einer breiteren Öffentlichkeit als bildender Künstler wahrgenommen und anerkannt wurde.

Ein Maler des Fantastischen

de_DEGerman
en_GBEnglish de_DEGerman